Portal Career Managment not Working

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author
Messages
Roger French
Veteran Member
Posts: 545
Veteran Member
    Apps: 8.0.3.7
    ENV: 8.0.3.6
    IOS: 8.0.3.6
    Windows2003
    Portal: 3.1.6

    Security wide open,
    The Career Management link when clicked, just spins through with a cute cubis looking graphic, and after 10 minitues nothing ever displays.

    Yes we have rebooted, logged off, etc.
    Tried with and without security on.

    Any idea what to check?

    Thank you in advance,
    Roger
    John Henley
    Senior Member
    Posts: 3348
    Senior Member
      Employee Self-Service or Manager Self-Service ?
      Thanks for using the LawsonGuru.com forums!
      John
      Roger French
      Veteran Member
      Posts: 545
      Veteran Member
        Both in ESS and MSS.....

        Don Baucom
        Basic Member
        Posts: 4
        Basic Member
          I had a similar issue but I would receive a blank screen after a few minutes.
          It worked on some PC's and Not others even with different IDs. I thought it might be a java client issue, but some PC's not working had the same java version. I started to trace the code and found there was a java script error with the following information:

          Line: 74
          Char: 17
          Error:Permission denied
          Code: 0
          URL: http://10.69.0.15:80/laws...ainWinCheesecake.htm
          -------------------------------------------
          or
          http://10.69.0.15:80/laws...ainWinCheesecake.htm
          --------------------------------------------
          we also tried the other layouts:
          - mainWinAntartica.htm
          - mainWinCheesecake.htm
          - mainWinJungle.htm
          - mainWinOctober.htm

          ============================================
          I looked at the html/javascript from the above listed error:

          ...
          function OpenProgram(TabSelected)
          {
          _cbdhtml_ResetAll()
          removeWaitAlert()
          showWaitAlert("Loading Career Management...", AnimatedIcon,true,"font-size:12pt;font-family:arial;font-weight:bold")

          if(!DMECALLED)
          {
          GetSelectBoxesForGeneralUsage("OpenProgram("+TabSelected+")","EMPLOYEE");
          return;
          }
          ...
          -------------------------------------------
          Line: 74 was the line:
          GetSelectBoxesForGeneralUsage...
          -------------------------------------------
          I checked older code and new code and this code is the same. Then I placed alerts before the code and after and found the problem would by-pass just by hitting ok on the alerts without any code changes.
          Next I took the alerts out and noticed the "PLEASE WAIT" window was an window with a close button, so I closed it the next time and the programs worked.

          Bottom Line: I found out if I comment out the line:
          //--------------------------------------------------------- //
          // showWaitAlert("Loading Career Management...", AnimatedIcon,true,"font-size:12pt;font-family:arial;font-weight:bold")
          //--------------------------------------------------------- //
          in both MSS & ESS files
          - mainWinAntartica.htm
          - mainWinCheesecake.htm
          - mainWinJungle.htm
          - mainWinOctober.htm
          Then the programs worked.

          I am still trying to understand why and fix the issue correctly - but for the users, this works without any impact.

          Below is a dump of the java console also which I am looking into more.

          The call showWaitAlert is to the javascript file:
          ../hrnet/waitalert.js

          ============================================
          I then ran a trace on the java console which returned:

          basic: Registered modality listener
          liveconnect: Invoking JS method: document
          basic: Unable to obtain Document object
          basic: Unregistered modality listener
          basic: Registered modality listener
          liveconnect: Invoking JS method: document
          liveconnect: Invoking JS method: URL
          basic: Referencing classloader: sun.plugin.ClassLoaderInfo@cec0c5, refcount=1
          basic: Added progress listener: sun.plugin.util.GrayBoxPainter@ba6c83
          basic: Loading applet ...
          basic: Initializing applet ...
          basic: Starting applet ...
          network: Connecting http://10.69.0.15:80/lawson/java/jchart.jar with proxy=DIRECT
          network: Connecting http://10.69.0.15:80/lawson/java/jchart.jar with cookie "JSESSIONID=0000KSaciypb1whoquSkywibhPw:-1"
          basic: Loading http://10.69.0.15:80/lawson/java/jchart.jar from cache
          basic: No certificate info, this is unsigned JAR file.
          basic: Stopping applet ...
          basic: Removed progress listener: sun.plugin.util.GrayBoxPainter@ba6c83
          basic: Finding information ...
          basic: Releasing classloader: sun.plugin.ClassLoaderInfo@cec0c5, refcount=0
          basic: Caching classloader: sun.plugin.ClassLoaderInfo@cec0c5
          basic: Current classloader cache size: 1
          basic: Done ...
          basic: Joining applet thread ...
          basic: Destroying applet ...
          basic: Disposing applet ...
          basic: Joined applet thread ...
          basic: Unregistered modality listener
          basic: Quiting applet ...
          ============================================

          I hope this helps -- I was looking into this issue over the holidays - but I still do not have the fix - just the work-around.

          Don Baucom
          John Henley
          Senior Member
          Posts: 3348
          Senior Member
            Don,

            Based on your description, this sounds like it's specific to browser settings. My first suggestion of where to look is:

            1) On the PCs that are working, is your Lawson server set as a "trusted site" and/or allow pop-ups for your Lawson server?
            2) On the PCs that don't work, is there are pop-up blocker?

            Thanks for using the LawsonGuru.com forums!
            John
            Don Baucom
            Basic Member
            Posts: 4
            Basic Member
              John,

              Thanks for the reply, but I did check those items.
              I found if I close the Please wait window, then another one pops up and it completed fine.
              If the the call to waitalert is not called, then no please wait windows appear, and it works.
              This leads me to believe it is in the waitalert routine. I am going to check the waitalert.js to see if I can find more details.

              Don
              John Henley
              Senior Member
              Posts: 3348
              Senior Member
                What version of self-service are you on?
                The latest version for 8.0.3 (8.0.3.53) adds a 'try/catch' wrapper around the code in removeWaitAlert()

                function removeWaitAlert()
                { //Pt 161730
                try{
                if (typeof(waitAlertWind) != 'undefined' && waitAlertWind!=null)
                {
                if (waitAlertWind.closed == false)
                waitAlertWind.close();
                }
                }
                catch(e) {}
                }
                Thanks for using the LawsonGuru.com forums!
                John
                Ben Coonfield
                Veteran Member
                Posts: 146
                Veteran Member
                  Does Microsoft patch 927978 help?
                  Don Baucom
                  Basic Member
                  Posts: 4
                  Basic Member
                    I have that patch installed. Thanks for the suggestion.

                    Don
                    Don Baucom
                    Basic Member
                    Posts: 4
                    Basic Member
                      Employee and Manager Self Service 08 00 03 5103

                      We are not on the latest version because we have a lot of customizations and needed to get through enrollment and year end. We will probably look at updating around June to have the latest version including updating Lawson to 9.x before we start the customizations for open enrollment.

                      I added the wrapper code - it works!!!

                      Thanks - I like fixes better than work arounds!


                      Don
                      John Henley
                      Senior Member
                      Posts: 3348
                      Senior Member
                        Great--glad it works!
                        Thanks for using the LawsonGuru.com forums!
                        John
                        You are not authorized to post a reply.